Great. Another mommy blogger.

This idea has been rattling in my mind for a while. Like all people, I have a story to tell. And like many, I didn’t know how to get it out.

I’m finally getting the mental scraps of paper onto real scraps of paper and onto the screen. It’s a creation of stories – of all moms I know and their first years of motherhood. What made them laugh and what made them cry.

There are magical moments of becoming a mom that are beyond words. There is no accurate poem, song or language that can express the joys of motherhood, but there are many. Conversely, there are few poems, songs or language that expresses the sadness of motherhood and I wanted to create a forum for both.

I’ve most recently been inspired by Heather B. Armstrong’s new book, It Sucked and Then I Cried. For those who regularly read her fantastic blog, dooce, you have followed her honest chronicles of being pregnant, giving birth and suffering through postpartum depression. Do Heather a favor and buy the book. I don’t know her, but she seems like good people. Penelope Trunk also chronicles with candor about her own battle with postpartum depression.

So stay tuned. I’m gathering stories from friends about their first smiles and their first tears from the first year of their baby’s life. We want you along for the ride.

 – MD

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

