Black Friday Giveaway, Local Style

I’m venturing into a new world and I’m doing a giveaway. On Black Friday.

I guarantee that you won’t find me at any stores on Black Friday. I find the whole thing creepy – people sacrificing valuable sleep for “deals” in a society flush with coupons and an abundance of televisions. Shudder.

I took a self-pledge years ago to shop locally and support artists as much as possible. So I asked a few friends if they would be interested in participating in my first giveaway, and I’m happy to share I will have giveaways from four creative mamas, just in time for the holidays, starting on Black Friday.

Here’s a sneak peek:

Upcycled knit hats from fellow blogger EC. Miss Red wore them everywhere the first year of her life and I buy one each time a friend has a baby. They are completely unique and awesome. The photo below is an example, and two she is providing will be different.

Upcycled Knit Hats by Ellen Carlson

Hand-spun yarn from Madison mama and crafter Enid Williams, who operates Haley Studio on Etsy. She will give away her choice of hand-spun yarn.

Hand-spun yarn from Haley Studio

From another Madison mama and homesteader Lily Hoyer-Winfield of Ten Finger Workshop comes two sets of clothes pin dolls. Believe me, you want them. I’ve custom-ordered wooden dolls from Lily and they are heirloom items and well-loved in our house.

Clothes Pin People by Ten Finger Workshop

And last, but not least, comes an awesome tote ALL THE WAY FROM NEW YORK CITY! Artist, musician, poet and mama Summer Pierre is providing a cheesecake tote. What a sweet gift for you or a loved one! Might I add that Summer’s post about giving birth in the backseat of a taxi remains THE most read post on this blog ever? Did I also mention that Summer has published two books, has an awesome blog, and is just plain inspiring? Yeah, that.

Cheesecake Tote by Summer Pierre

Are you excited yet? I’m excited for you. Here’s what you need to do:

1. Click on all of those links and check these people out. Like their Facebook pages, subscribe to their feeds, favorite them, be a good egg. While you’re at it, go ahead and add me to your Google reader or subscribe via email or RSS via those buttons on the upper right-hand corner.

2. Tell your friends.

3. Come back on Friday, where I’ll post the first giveaway and the simple rules. All giveaways will be to you by the holidays.

– MD

p.s. Aren’t I the luckiest gal around? I thought about doing this, asked my friends, and they said yes.

2 thoughts on “Black Friday Giveaway, Local Style

  1. Pingback: Cheesecake Tote Giveaway, Courtesy of Summer Pierre « First Smiles And Tears

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

