Respite

Last Thursday I was off from work and Miss Red was in summer camp. I knew well in advance that I was going to take myself to a movie, a true luxury as a parent. And I was going to do it right. I planned on Sundance 608 where I would treat myself to popcorn for lunch.

After asking Twitter folk for their recommendations, I decided on Moonrise Kingdom, Wes Anderson’s latest movie. Who doesn’t love Wes Anderson films? Well, maybe a lot of people, but for 90-ish minutes I feasted on eye candy, buttery popcorn and sweet iced tea. Outside it was at least 102 degrees. In the packed theater I felt the collective group soften from the opening credits on – taking in the soft palette of saturated 70s colors. Who else could make beige so inviting?

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

